New England (Robert Frost)

For poetry of place, there is nothing as magical as the work of Robert Frost.  An American living in New England at the turn of the 2oth century, Frost celebrated his home-land with originality and grace. His evocations of rural New England are strikingly beautiful; I always feel as if I am breathing different air – fresh, laden with snow, sparkling with ice – when I read his poems.

To see what I mean, try Birches, the story of a boy playing in the snow near his family home. If this appeals to you, you would also like After Apple Picking and Frost’s most often-quoted poem, The Road Not Taken.

Poet Amy Lowell commented that “Not only is his work New England in subject, it is so in technique…. Mr. Frost has reproduced both people and scenery with a vividness which is extraordinary.” (1) Any time that I feel like travelling to the silent, icy beauty of the New Hampshire countryside in winter, I read my favourite poems by Robert Frost.

2 Comments

Filed under WHAT TO READ NEXT

2 responses to “New England (Robert Frost)

  1. Cathy

    One of my favrouite poets! I love The Road Not Taken, and also Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening… so beautiful!

  2. The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep.

    http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/171621