All I want for Christmas

Christmas can mean a combination of champagne, mince pies and carols by candlelight. If you’re lucky, it’s also a time when you might get the chance to read something during the holiday break! Between 25th December and the New Year, I plan to read this year’s Man Booker Prize novel (Julian Barnes’ The Sense of an Ending.) The other choice is something Christmassy – there are plenty of murder mysteries with Christmas settings (starting with Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot’s Christmas) or something traditional, like Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. Let us know what you’re reading this Christmas.

4 Comments

Filed under Miscellanea

4 responses to “All I want for Christmas

  1. Brenna

    My Christmas reading list has been growing since last Christmas.

    Some of the things waiting in this year’s Christmas pile include: ‘Elements of murder : a history of poison’ by John Emsley; ‘The City and the City’ by China Mieville ; ‘London : the biography’ by Peter Akroyd ; ‘Citizens’ by Simon Schama ; and a collection of short stories by Ray Bradbury.

    I don’t think I’ll even get close to finishing them all.

  2. Cathy

    I do enjoy reading fiction but I need to be on holiday to really get into a novel. I find non-fiction much easier to dip in and out of in the evenings after work. In the lead up to Christmas I’ll be reading ‘Women, work & the art of savoir faire: business sense & sensibility’ by Mireille Guiliano. I really enjoyed her writing style in ‘French women don’t get fat’ so I’m sure this one will be a good read too.

  3. Janette

    I enjoy reading non-fiction too and have been focusing on my list of these at late. However, for something different I was thinking of reading ‘There should be more dancing’ / Rosalie Ham (if I can get my hands on a copy), ‘Campaign Ruby” / Jessica Rudd and for the other side of the story, ‘The Making of Julia Gillard’ (before the unmaking is published)!

  4. Helen Attar

    I’ve just read David Vann’s novel Caribou Island and it was stunning. Said by one reviewer to be the Alaskan version of Revolutionary Road! Over Xmas I’ll be reading his Legend of a Suicide stories, so hope I enjoy them as much. Also intend reading Aravind Adiga’s Last Man in the Tower – set in Mumbai.